Egyptology, that’s why

I don’t really like the TEDx talks most of the time, but still, I gotta share this one with you. Not sure if I’ve mentioned it before since I moved my blog here – I studied Egyptology and Archaeology and got an M.A. in both subjects before changing fields and pursuing a career in teaching.

Olaf Kaper is a great scientist, and a person I had the pleasure to meet. Yes, egyptologists can be fan girls and fan boys in their own field. Egyptology isn’t just about channeling one’s inner Indiana Jones, it’s a science like any other that strives to find out more about humanity, history, who we are and where we come from. I think that Kaper does a wonderful job explaining what makes us fall in love with Ancient Egypt and what makes studying history so fascinating and worthwhile.

Kommentar verfassen

