Thing of the day: 10 unusual words for book lovers

20150909_115425Hi y’all,

I know it’s been a while since I’ve updated you on what’s been going on in my life, so today I’ll do just that. My state exams went very well for the most part; I’m not so sure about what they actually wanted us to write in one exam but hey, what can you do afterwards… One bad grade won’t kill me.

Once all my state exams were out of the way (the written ones at least; two oral exams are still to come), I spent a lot of time sleeping, promptly falling ill with migrane-like headaches that knocked me off my feet for two days, visiting friends, and reading tons of books, of course. That’s why I’ve had a few book reviews up in a row, and a lot will follow suit.

I’ve also been busy watching Torchwood and the last season of Doctor Who before the new season starts on September 19th, while at the same time stamping, colouring (e.g. today’s picture), glueing sequins and embellishments and making cards to catch up with friends who had to go without me for a few months. I’ve already met a few of them over the weekend and will meet some more in the next two weeks. Fun times!

Now let’s get to my thing of the day: the 10 unusual words for book lovers! I just thought I’d share this with you bibliophiles because I thought you might like it as much as I do. I quite like the word „libricide“ – though not what it means.

The blog of the Oxford Dictionaries homepage has an email newsletter and the usually have fun quizzes, top-10-of-something lists, infos on unsual words that they’ve integrated into the dictionaries and so on. For teachers, learners of English, or people who are fond of languages and books in general there’s always something entertaining to be found in there.

That’s it for today!

Have a wonderful day and enjoy the autumnal weather like I do!

Kommentar verfassen

